Who needs you & for how long?

Who needs you & for how long?

There’s a very good chance I’ve never read anything sadder!  I closed the computer and thought immediately, I must have another kid or 10, so I am never alone!  Then the terrible emotions ran through my head of how busy we are with our 2 and there is no way I could give as much love to ALL of them if we had more.  Then I kept thinking about OMG do I give my 2 sweeties enough???

Well lets sums up the past 2 days…..  I took Mia to Disney on Ice while Mallory was at school, then met Mallory, her friends & Mia at concord bowl where they bowled 3 games.  Then Mallory begged to spend the night with Barrett and I couldn’t say no even though I knew how sad Mia would be, it’s a part of growing up.  So Mia and I went home to meet dad, we took a 45 minute nap, and waited for dad to get off work and headed out to dinner.  I wanted to make tonight happy so Mia wouldn’t feel as left out.  We went to Olive Garden for dinner (Mia’s Favorite & Mine) and then we headed to see the Lego movie.  Mia had a BLAST!!!!  

I then picked up Mia from Sam’s house at 9 and got her ready for her 1st outdoor game at Slysa for the spring session.  We left our house and it was 47, and at Slysa it was 32 with a “feels like” of 27 UGH it was FREEZING!!!! Mal and I met Dad and Mia at the fields.  Mia was sooooooooo excietd to get to play with Kelly!  They lost their game 3-1 and thankfully Mal didn’t freeze to death!

Mia went home with dad and Mal & I did a little shopping!  We are looking for 1st communion accesories; shoes, veil etc.  While at the mall, Mallory rode the Merry-Go-Round and got a punching ballon.  Then we headed to Logan College to watch Madison and Mackenzie dance.  We hung with them for a while and then headed to see my grandma in the hospital:(  She isn’t doing so well and it breaks my heart!  Mallory and I grabbed dinner and headed by Walmart to grab groceries to prepare for the upcoming storm (1-3 inches of sleet & 4-6 of snow)!  

When we get home Mallory finds out about the movie and dinner and is DEVASTATED that she missed it, all the while last night Mia cried because she missed Mallory.  Sometimes it really isn’t ever a win win situation!

 

While visiting my grandma today, I was overtaken with sadness.  She lost her husband of 67 years 3 weeks ago and she’s miserable!  I’m so thankful Mallory and I had a chance to see her, and let her know we are praying for her!

After reading the article attached and visiting my grandma, and being on the go non-stop with the girls. I still can’t help but be overwhelmed with emotion, thinking of them growing up and leaving us.  Not needing/wanting me like they do now.  It also saddens me, that when I think about it, sometimes I get frustrated that they always need me.  It is my goal from now on to answer the; mom I need you, mom can you do this, mom will you help me with this, mom I spilled this, mom.. mom..mom..mom…mom.. with a smile on my face!  And to remember when it’s gone, I’ll miss it more then anything in the world (as I type with tears in my eyes.)

How is it that you can fill your day with nothing but fun bonding kiddo time and still feel like you didn’t do enough… is it bad to always want more time?  

Tomorrow morning as I wake Mallory up at 6am for her 7:15 soccer game, I will make her breakfast, i’ll do her hair and wish her good luck!  Instead of complaining about the early indoor game, I will be thankful that I have the opportunity to watch my little girl go out & do something she loves!  Regardless of the time or weather!  

Just a few random thoughts from the last 2 days! If I could bottle my girls up at this age and keep them little forever I would!  I think Mallory’s fast approching 8th birthday, is putting a damper on my “keep the girls young forever plan:(“

Leave a comment